Editing my life.

Don Miller wrote about this in his book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. He was approached by some folks who wanted to make a movie out of his last famous book, Blue Like Jazz, and he wrote about the experience and the different things he learned along the way.

This has been something of the journey I’ve taken over the last year – taking a step back to rethink where my life is going and looking at different options. Learning to be more intentional about what I choose to be involved in. Reading and hearing about what it means to be a leader, even if it might be a little premature.

I’ve thought about many different options during this time, but made moves mostly in two directions – back to accounting/finance and toward vocational ministry. I’m praying for guidance and letting God take over from there.

What I’d really like to try is working at a restaurant or a cafe somewhere, but that wouldn’t be a good look on my resume. And hey, if the hours aren’t too bad where I end up, I may try doing that part-time.

But maybe this is all just a part of growing up – deciding what paths to close the door on and what paths to continue on.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

