Great leaders don’t want to lead

Something I’ve learned about leadership is that my leadership is most effective when I’m surprised to see people following me. When I expect people to follow me, I’m not being a leader; I’m being a dictator. But when I’m surprised about and maybe even a little against being followed, that’s when I’m truly being a leader.

If you want to be the leader, you’re probably not going to be a great leader. I’m getting more and more convinced that the best leaders don’t actually want to be leaders. But it’s that very heart that incites people to not just follow them but join them. And yes, there is a difference.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

