Buy, borrow, or bypass?

I’m going to start reviewing books here on a regular basis, so this post will give some background information on my intent and methodology, the types of books I’ll feature, and how you can get involved.

Why? How?

I’ve been reading some good books lately, and I’m finding that the questions they answer for me are questions many people I know are asking. So, I’ve started giving some away. While I enjoy doing that, though, it’s a rather severely limited way to spread the wealth. By going online, it’ll be easier for me to let people know what I think about different books.

For each book, I’ll go over some of the main points I got out of it as well as how applicable or actionable it is. I’ll conclude each review with one of three recommendations:

  • Buy – this is a good book that I can see myself revisiting often, so you should buy it
  • Borrow – this book is good and informative, but there’s little benefit in reading it more than once; borrow it from the library or from a friend
  • Bypass – this book is not very good, so skip it; there won’t be many of these, because if I lose interest in a book, I tend to just ditch it without finishing

What books?

I’ll be focusing these reviews on books that pertain to business, career, leadership, and faith. Partly because that’s what I’ve been reading a lot of lately, but largely because they’re inspiring, especially those based on actual experiences. I’m excited about where this can go!

How can I get involved?

Easiest way is probably by commenting. If you’ve read the book, add your opinions to the mix! If you haven’t and decide to pick it up, let me know too!

The best way for you to get involved, though, is to suggest new books for me to review! I’ll try to put out posts asking for more books every so often. Maybe not right at the beginning, because I have a lot of books to retrospectively review, but eventually, I’ll get there.

I’m stoked. Let’s take this journey together!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

