inconsistent

I know I haven’t been posting as often as I’d hoped to be posting, but I’ve been rather busy. I’m taking REG in a week, and there’s a good amount of material I still want to review before then. But at least after that, I’ll be much more relaxed. Hopefully don’t have to take this one again either. God help me, because my discipline is grossly (yes, I say grossly) inadequate.

I’ve been buying a LOT of things in the past week or so. I need to curb my spending for the next few weeks. Some purchases may have been wiser than others, but I don’t regret any of the purchases…. yet.

I really need to figure out what I want to do with my life. All I know right now is I’m not thrilled about where I am. I can bear with it a bit more, though. In the meantime, I do consider myself blessed to have an arguably decent-paying job.

Some time ago, I read about David living among the Philistines for a time while he was running from Saul, the king of Israel at the time. While he was there, he actually had to act a certain way in order to better fit in with the Philistines and be able to stay safe from Saul. This time couldn’t have been easy for David, since living with the enemy is a pretty strange situation for someone who’s supposed to become king of Israel. Thing is, David already knew that he was eventually going to be king, so this must’ve stumped him. But he got through it, even saw success while with the Philistines, and went on to fulfill his destiny and become king of Israel.

I feel like for me, my current profession is like David’s time with the Philistines. Although unlike David I don’t know exactly where I’m going to end up, I have a pretty good idea that where I’m at is not it. My job right now is to excel where I am, even if I don’t particularly like it (I’m sure David wasn’t a big fan of helping his enemies out). And I have to keep the faith, that when the time is right, God’s gonna lead me to the next thing, bring me closer to where I’m supposed to go.

I do believe this is what God meant for me to get from the passage I read, but it’s often difficult to maintain this view of my life. Pursuing the CPA sure doesn’t help. Life will be much, much better after it’s over. I still think of it as a waste of a year, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

