titles that have nothing to do with the content

That does happen sometimes. For instance, my post from earlier today. I shall explain.

To put it briefly, it’s inspired by a line from Relient K’s “Be My Escape.”

What I failed to include previously is that it’s only thanks to God’s grace that I was able to recognize the deficiencies in myself to get to a place where I could clearly see that I was heading in a direction away from where I need to go. And of course only thanks to God’s grace that I could even hope to turn things around.

The line I love from the aforementioned song is “the beauty of grace is that it makes life not fair.” I think that line is brilliant, because how often do we groan about life being unfair? Most of the time, when we say that life isn’t fair, it’s in reference to something we don’t like.

But if life were completely fair, we could never be saved. God made us perfect, but we messed it up. In order to bring us back, He had to tip the scales. He sent Jesus down to take our punishment (death) for us, and allowed us the opportunity to appear before him blameless, if we would only accept that gift and recognize that Jesus took the payment for our wrongdoing. That’s cheating. That’s not fair. But I thank God for it every day.

Something I like that my pastor has said:
Justice is getting what you deserve. Mercy is not getting what you deserve. Grace is getting what you don’t deserve.

Thank God life isn’t fair.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

