Being present.

It’s interesting to think about the effect that the internet and social media are having on our lives. Are they making us more connected with other people or less so?

Now more than ever, it’s possible for us to be very aware of world needs.

Now more than ever, it’s possible for us to stay in touch with friends and family miles away from us.

Now more than ever, it’s possible for us to discover “everything” about a tourist destination before even setting foot there.

Now more than ever, it’s possible for us to learn just about any skill or trade if we know where to look.

But what’s the cost of it all? Maybe for the sake of information density we’ve sacrificed other things in our lives. Maybe we’ve allowed status updates to replace the human connection. Maybe we’ve become selectively detached from one another.

Technology is neither good nor evil; it’s a tool, an advantage that can be used for either. It will continue to change as we move forward, and it should. The question is – what will we choose to do with the power it buys us?

    • De
    • August 18th, 2012

    Interesting post. I find myself having a battle sometimes regarding social media and my relationships. I’ve realized I have started to consider Facebook or Twitter as a way to keep up with what is going on in my friend’s lives,but it shouldn’t be that way. I LOVE to text,but I dont want that to replace conversations. Sometimes I text so much,actual conversation seems awkward..at first..but then I realize what I have been missing. There is a connection,I think,that isn’t the same when you text or tweet watch..a completely different thing. And I miss that. which is why I’m trying to consciously CALL people to check on them or to talk to them. Which is kind of weird for some people these days. But if we lose that,then what?

    Just my two cents lol

    • Thanks for your comment! I fall into the same trap and need to be more intentional about calling just to check in with people.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,170 other followers

